AJHL AGM Marks launch of 2024-2025 AJHL Season



The Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) held the 2024 Annual General Meeting of the Board of Governors as well as the Annual AJHL General Managers & Coaches Meeting and League Scheduling Meeting in Canmore, AB from May 23rd-25th.  The collaboration of the league and its 12 teams resulted in a revised schedule and playoff format for the 2024-25 season as well as a focus on providing a consistent standard of play across Junior hockey.

The AJHL will restructure as two divisions for the 2024-25 season – the AJHL North Division and AJHL South Division.  The new Devon Xtreme expansion team will play in the North Division and the Drayton Valley Thunder will return to the South Division.  The regular season will feature a 54-game schedule for each team, including four games versus each member of the opposite division and six games against teams within the division, as well as two games at the annual AJHL Showcase.  The complete League Schedule will be announced in mid-June.

The 2025 Inter Pipeline Cup AJHL Playoffs will see the top four teams in each division advance to determine a Division Champion at the conclusion of Round Two.  The South Division Champion and North Division Champion will then compete in the 2025 Inter Pipeline Cup AJHL Final.  Each series will be a best-of-seven with the highest placed seed meeting the lowest placed seed in the division.

In June 2024, the AJHL will announce changes in several categories, including playing rules, which will directly benefit the players, prospects, coaches and game officials by providing consistency and improvement to the standard of play.

Alberta Junior Hockey League rosters may include a maximum of eight 20 year-old players in the 2024-25 season, increased from the maximum allowance of six previously.  The AJHL continues to require a minimum of five players aged 18 and younger in the line-up for all games played.

The Ken Bracko Award for AJHL Executive of the Year has been presented to the AJHL Board of Governors for its commitment and dedication through a season of unprecedented change.  The AJHL would like to specifically recognize the current AJHL Management Committee for their guidance and determination – Blake Parker (Olds Grizzlys), Kevin Pratt (Camrose Kodiaks), Blair Christianson (Drumheller Dragons), Ray Mildenberger (Grande Prairie Storm), David Fitzgerald (Fort McMurray Oil Barons) and Shane Tomayer (Lloydminster Bobcats).

The Alberta Junior Hockey League is operating under the direction of Chairman Greg Wood and Commissioner Ryan Bartoshyk, as well as Charla Flett (Executive Director), Fran Gow (Vice President, Hockey Operations) and Dean Laschowski (Video Review Manager).  AJHL Vice President of Officiating, Curtis Nichols, has retired from the position with great gratitude from the Alberta Junior Hockey League and its members.

The AJHL Board of Governors will hold the 2024 AJHL Semi-Annual Meeting in November 2024.