Gavin Middendorf named as finalist for the AJHL 2022-23 Rookie of the Year Award

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with RBC, is proud to announce the 2022-2023 League Award Finalists.
Two finalists from each division have been selected by the General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League through two phases of voting. The award winner in each of the seven categories will be determined through a final stage of voting and announced at the completion of the AJHL regular season.
The annual awards include Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Most Dedicated Player and Coach of the Year.


2022-23 Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists
Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy
Matteo Giampa – Bonnyville Pontiacs
Caleb MacDonald – Whitecourt Wolverines
Aiden Fink – Brooks Bandits
Ty Daneault – Drumheller Dragons

Matteo Giampa – Bonnyville Pontiacs
Luigi Benincasa – Spruce Grove Saints
Aiden Fink – Brooks Bandits
Ty Daneault – Drumheller Dragons

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy
Nicolas Beaudoin – Bonnyville Pontiacs
Gavin Middendorf – Drayton Valley Thunder
Layne Loomer – Blackfalds Bulldogs
Hudson Malinoski – Brooks Bandits

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by Alberta Ford Dealers
Breck McKinley – Spruce Grove Saints
Caleb MacDonald -Whitecourt Wolverines
Tanner Willick – Blackfalds Bulldogs
Sam Court – Brooks Bandits

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy
Connor Mackenzie – Grande Prairie Storm
Erick Roest – Sherwood Park Crusaders
Ethan Barwick – Brooks Bandits
Freddie Halyk – Camrose Kodiaks

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy
Trey Funk – Bonnyville Pontiacs
Tanner Komzak – Whitecourt Wolverines
Heath Armstrong – Brooks Bandits
Dean Spak – Okotoks Oilers

Coach of the Year
Mario Pouliot – Bonnyville Pontiacs
Shawn Martin – Whitecourt Wolverines
Ryan Papaioannou – Brooks Bandits
Tyler Deis – Okotoks Oilers

The winners of the following League Awards and Scholarships will also be announced at the completion of the regular season and throughout the 2023 Inter Pipeline AJHL Playoffs.

Viterra All-League and All-Rookie Team
Inter Pipeline AJHL All-Academic Team
Regular Season Champion – Dave Duchak Trophy
Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
Top Goal Scorer
Top Team Goaltenders – CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
Viterra Star of the Game Standings Leader – Viterra Cup
Stewy Stewart Memorial Award – Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy
AJHL Executive of the Year – Ken Bracko Award
Viterra Salute to Service Volunteer Award – North & South Division Recipient
Inter Pipeline AJHL Scholarship
Open Circle AJHL Scholarship – North & South Division Recipient
RBC Community Ambassador Scholarship – North & South Division Recipient
Dr. Oetker AJHL Greatest Teammate Award Scholarship – North & South Division Recipient